International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) Classification for Athletes with Visual Impairment

Eligible Impairments Types:   Athletes with Vision Impairment have reduced, or no vision caused by damage to the eye structure, optical nerves or optical pathways, or visual cortex of the brain.
B1: Visual acuity is less than LogMAR 2.60
B2: Visual acuity ranges from LogMAR 1.50 to 2.60 (inclusive); and/or the visual field is constricted to a diameter of less than 10 degrees.
B3: Visual acuity ranges from LogMAR 1.50 to 2.60 (inclusive); and/or the visual field is contricted to a diameter of less than 40 degrees.

In Paralympic Sports, these three classes equate to:

Athletics T/F11 / T/F12 / T/F13
EquestrianB2 / B1 / B3
Football 5-a-sideB1
Goalball B2 / B1 / B3
Judo B2 / B1 / B3
RowingPR3 B1 / PR3 B2 / PR3 B3
SwimmingS-SB_SM11 / S-SB-SM12 / S-SB-SM13
TriathlonPVTL1 / PTVL2 / PTVL3

How to apply for national classification:

To be eligible to apply for a national classification, athletes must:

  • Be affected by at least one impairment considered eligible by the IBSA
  • Minimum of 13 years old
  • Be involved through the NGB in the sport which wishes to be classified for a minimum period of five months
  • Be a member of Vision Sports Ireland
  • Athletes who fulfil the criteria above should have the Medical Diagnostics Form completed ( and submitted to

Please be aware the information above is related purely to classification. Further information on the national athlete and competition pathway should be clarified with each Sport NGB.

On small screens this website needs to be viewed in portrait screen orietation.